Heart & Lung

Subscription or hybridMedicine

Heart & Lung is published by Elsevier BV as a subscription journal (ISSN 0147-9563). The list article processing charge is $3,600. Its OpenAlex h-index is 104. Figures on this page are sourced from OpenAlex and DOAJ and should be confirmed on the journal’s own site before submission.

Cost to publish

$3,600

Open-access article processing charge, list price.

Checked · How we source APCs

Time to publication

Not reported to DOAJ.

h-index

104

OpenAlex citation statistic. Not a Journal Impact Factor.

2-year mean citedness

1.9

Average citations to articles from the previous two years.

What it costs to publish here

Publishing an open-access article in Heart & Lung is listed at $3,600. The publisher also lists 3,370 EUR, 2,880 GBP, 446,510 JPY. No waiver policy is recorded in our sources, which does not mean none exists. Ask.

What this journal has charged over time

List price for an open-access article in Heart & Lung, as recorded by OpenAlex for each year. The fee has risen 44% since 2019, from $2,500 to $3,600.

$0$1.8k$3.6k2019: $2,50020192020: $2,60020202021: $2,86020212022: $2,95020222023: $3,31020232024: $3,34020242025: $3,6002025

Publishers change list prices without notice and often apply discounts, institutional agreements or waivers. Treat this as the trend, and confirm the current figure with the journal.

Peer review and licensing

Review modelNot reported
LicenceNot reported
Author keeps copyrightNot reported
Plagiarism screeningNot reported
Editorial boardNot linked in DOAJ
LanguagesNot reported

Verification checks

3 of 8 confirmed

These are facts we could verify in public records, not a verdict. A journal missing a check is not necessarily disreputable — many long-established subscription journals sit outside the open-access registries entirely. Use them as questions to ask, and confirm anything that matters directly with the journal before you submit.

  • Listed in the Directory of Open Access JournalsNot listed. Many legitimate subscription journals are not in DOAJ, so this alone means little.Not confirmed
  • Included in OpenAlex's curated core setOpenAlex flags well-established venues that appear across major indexes.Confirmed
  • Peer review model publicly declaredNo declared model found in DOAJ.Not confirmed
  • Publication charges stated up frontA journal that will not tell you the fee before submission is worth a second look.Confirmed
  • Screens submissions for plagiarismReported to DOAJ by the journal.Not confirmed
  • Participates in a digital preservation schemeArchiving means the record survives if the publisher does not.Not confirmed
  • Assigns persistent identifiers (DOIs)Standard practice; its absence is unusual.Not confirmed
  • Still actively publishingMost recent indexed article: 2026.Confirmed

Scope

The subjects Heart & Lung publishes most, derived from the topics assigned to its indexed articles.

Heart Failure Treatment and ManagementCardiac Health and Mental HealthDiverse Scientific and Economic StudiesHuman auditory perception and evaluationRespiratory Support and MechanismsChronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) ResearchIntensive Care Unit Cognitive DisordersFamily and Patient Care in Intensive Care UnitsMechanical Circulatory Support DevicesSepsis Diagnosis and Treatment

Publication record

Indexed articles4,657
Total citations76,208
i10-index1,638
Most recent indexed article2026
All ISSNs0147-9563, 1527-3288

Counts reflect what OpenAlex has indexed and will differ from the publisher's own figures. We do not show a founding year: OpenAlex's first-publication dates are distorted by mis-dated records — it puts PLoS ONE in 1806 — and we would rather omit a number than print one we cannot stand behind.