Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics

Subscription or hybridMedicine

Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics is published by Wiley as a subscription journal (ISSN 0275-5408). The list article processing charge is $4,050. Its OpenAlex h-index is 113. Figures on this page are sourced from OpenAlex and DOAJ and should be confirmed on the journal’s own site before submission.

Cost to publish

$4,050

Open-access article processing charge, list price.

Checked · How we source APCs

Time to publication

Not reported to DOAJ.

h-index

113

OpenAlex citation statistic. Not a Journal Impact Factor.

2-year mean citedness

3.5

Average citations to articles from the previous two years.

What it costs to publish here

Publishing an open-access article in Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics is listed at $4,050. The publisher also lists 3,350 EUR, 2,700 GBP. No waiver policy is recorded in our sources, which does not mean none exists. Ask.

What this journal has charged over time

List price for an open-access article in Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics, as recorded by OpenAlex for each year. The fee has risen 35% since 2019, from $3,000 to $4,050.

$0$2k$4.1k2019: $3,00020192020: $3,00020202021: $3,30020212022: $3,75020222023: $3,86020232024: $4,05020242025: $4,0502025

Publishers change list prices without notice and often apply discounts, institutional agreements or waivers. Treat this as the trend, and confirm the current figure with the journal.

Peer review and licensing

Review modelNot reported
LicenceNot reported
Author keeps copyrightNot reported
Plagiarism screeningNot reported
Editorial boardNot linked in DOAJ
LanguagesNot reported

Verification checks

3 of 8 confirmed

These are facts we could verify in public records, not a verdict. A journal missing a check is not necessarily disreputable — many long-established subscription journals sit outside the open-access registries entirely. Use them as questions to ask, and confirm anything that matters directly with the journal before you submit.

  • Listed in the Directory of Open Access JournalsNot listed. Many legitimate subscription journals are not in DOAJ, so this alone means little.Not confirmed
  • Included in OpenAlex's curated core setOpenAlex flags well-established venues that appear across major indexes.Confirmed
  • Peer review model publicly declaredNo declared model found in DOAJ.Not confirmed
  • Publication charges stated up frontA journal that will not tell you the fee before submission is worth a second look.Confirmed
  • Screens submissions for plagiarismReported to DOAJ by the journal.Not confirmed
  • Participates in a digital preservation schemeArchiving means the record survives if the publisher does not.Not confirmed
  • Assigns persistent identifiers (DOIs)Standard practice; its absence is unusual.Not confirmed
  • Still actively publishingMost recent indexed article: 2026.Confirmed

Scope

The subjects Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics publishes most, derived from the topics assigned to its indexed articles.

Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesVisual perception and processing mechanismsGlaucoma and retinal disordersCorneal surgery and disordersOcular Surface and Contact LensRetinal Diseases and TreatmentsOcular and Laser Science ResearchIntraocular Surgery and LensesRetinal Imaging and AnalysisTactile and Sensory Interactions

Publication record

Indexed articles6,713
Total citations101,419
i10-index2,273
Most recent indexed article2026
All ISSNs0275-5408, 1475-1313

Counts reflect what OpenAlex has indexed and will differ from the publisher's own figures. We do not show a founding year: OpenAlex's first-publication dates are distorted by mis-dated records — it puts PLoS ONE in 1806 — and we would rather omit a number than print one we cannot stand behind.