Brain Impairment

Subscription or hybridMedicine

Brain Impairment is published by Cambridge University Press as a subscription journal (ISSN 1443-9646). No open-access article processing charge is listed; publishing is typically via subscription. Its OpenAlex h-index is 39. Figures on this page are sourced from OpenAlex and DOAJ and should be confirmed on the journal’s own site before submission.

Cost to publish

Subscription

No open-access fee found. Publishing is typically free to the author.

Checked · How we source APCs

Time to publication

Not reported to DOAJ.

h-index

39

OpenAlex citation statistic. Not a Journal Impact Factor.

2-year mean citedness

1.7

Average citations to articles from the previous two years.

What it costs to publish here

We could not find a published fee for Brain Impairment. As a subscription or hybrid journal, publishing is normally free unless you choose the open-access option.

What this journal has charged over time

List price for an open-access article in Brain Impairment, as recorded by OpenAlex for each year. The fee has risen 9% since 2019, from $2,980 to $3,255.

$0$1.6k$3.3k2019: $2,98020192020: $2,98020202021: $3,25520212022: $3,25520222023: $3,2552023

Publishers change list prices without notice and often apply discounts, institutional agreements or waivers. Treat this as the trend, and confirm the current figure with the journal.

Peer review and licensing

Review modelNot reported
LicenceNot reported
Author keeps copyrightNot reported
Plagiarism screeningNot reported
Editorial boardNot linked in DOAJ
LanguagesNot reported

Verification checks

2 of 8 confirmed

These are facts we could verify in public records, not a verdict. A journal missing a check is not necessarily disreputable — many long-established subscription journals sit outside the open-access registries entirely. Use them as questions to ask, and confirm anything that matters directly with the journal before you submit.

  • Listed in the Directory of Open Access JournalsNot listed. Many legitimate subscription journals are not in DOAJ, so this alone means little.Not confirmed
  • Included in OpenAlex's curated core setOpenAlex flags well-established venues that appear across major indexes.Confirmed
  • Peer review model publicly declaredNo declared model found in DOAJ.Not confirmed
  • Publication charges stated up frontA journal that will not tell you the fee before submission is worth a second look.Not confirmed
  • Screens submissions for plagiarismReported to DOAJ by the journal.Not confirmed
  • Participates in a digital preservation schemeArchiving means the record survives if the publisher does not.Not confirmed
  • Assigns persistent identifiers (DOIs)Standard practice; its absence is unusual.Not confirmed
  • Still actively publishingMost recent indexed article: 2025.Confirmed

Scope

The subjects Brain Impairment publishes most, derived from the topics assigned to its indexed articles.

Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchStroke Rehabilitation and RecoveryCerebral Palsy and Movement DisordersDementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchCardiac Arrest and ResuscitationTraumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular DisturbancesNeurobiology of Language and BilingualismTrauma and Emergency Care StudiesCognitive Functions and MemoryAcute Ischemic Stroke Management

Publication record

Indexed articles926
Total citations8,028
i10-index235
Most recent indexed article2025
All ISSNs1443-9646, 1839-5252

Counts reflect what OpenAlex has indexed and will differ from the publisher's own figures. We do not show a founding year: OpenAlex's first-publication dates are distorted by mis-dated records — it puts PLoS ONE in 1806 — and we would rather omit a number than print one we cannot stand behind.